Next Page in this section
Tenerife Holiday Guide Home page
You can get in touch with us here...
The essential information you need to plan your holiday
What's happening around the island
The most attractive places to see in Tenerife
Check out the current and annual weather conditions
Tenerife island and city maps
How to get to here...
Hotel reservations, car rentals and flights
The image gallery... enjoy!
Versao PortuguesaSpanish versionDeutsche Version
You are here: > Home > Essential Information > Government

Although a Spanish possession, Tenerife has it's own Government and special status within the EEC (European Economic Community). The Spanish monarchy is represented by King Carlos and Queen Sofia. Their son Prince Felipe is heir to the throne.
Even before the Canary Islands were declared a single province of Spain in 1821, competition for primacy between the two main islands (Tenerife and Gran Canaria) had long been intense.
In 1982 the Canary Islands saw their autonomy come true, inside the general Spanish policy of decentralisation. Santa Cruz de Tenerife (in behalf of the eastern islands), jointly with Las Palmas (for the western islands), conducts the government. Santa Cruz has half of the regional government departments and the Parliament and its governor is appointed by Madrid.
Tenerife Coat of Arms
Tenerife has 15 members in the Canarian Parliament, organ that, besides its legislative role, sets island budgets and names representatives to take affairs to the mainland.
Tenerife also has its own island council (Cabildo Insular) that has certain powers of self-government and accepts responsibility for the daily running of local services. Then these functions are delegated to regional municipal units (municipios), and finally to town authorities.
© Strawberry World